UCI ProTour team licences: 14 applications for 8 licences

As the result of a ruling passed by the UCI ProTour Council in Birmingham in June, 15 August 2010 was established as the deadline for teams to submit an application to the International Cycling Union (UCI) to be awarded UCI ProTeam (1st Division) or UCI Professional Continental Team (2nd Division) status.

By this date, eight UCI ProTeams whose licences are expiring this year had requested renewal 1 :

• Astana (KAZ)
• Euskaltel-Euskadi (ESP)
• Ex-Team Milram* / Velocity (GER)
• Geox (ESP)
• Liquigas-Doimo (ITA)
• Team HTC-Columbia (USA)
• Telefonica Movistar* / Abarca Sports (ESP)

A further six teams that did not have UCI ProTour licences in 2010 presented applications for 2011:

• Bbox Bouygues Télécom (FRA)
• BMC Racing Team (USA)
• Cofidis, le crédit en ligne (FRA)
• Pegasus Sports* (AUS)
• The Luxembourg Pro Cycling Project* (LUX)
• Vacansoleil ProCycling Team (NED)

Ten teams already have valid UCI ProTour licences for the 2011 season:

• Ag2r La Mondiale (FRA)
• Garmin-Transitions (USA)
• Lampre-Farnese Vini (ITA)
• Omega Pharma-Lotto (BEL)
• Quick Step (BEL)
• Rabobank (NED)
• Sky Professional Cycling Team (GBR)
• Team Katusha (RUS)
• Team RadioShack (USA)
• Team Saxo Bank (DAN)

The UCI has thus received 14 applications for the award or renewal of licences for the eight licences that are available (a maximum of 18 teams will be granted UCI ProTeam status in 2011).

The fact that demand exceeds supply highlights the attraction of UCI ProTour status to teams.

Only those teams fulfilling a series of very strict criteria (excellent performance in sporting terms – the most important criterion; unconditional respect of ethics; assurance of financial stability and effective administration) will be granted a licence which affords the right, and obligation, to participate in all UCI ProTour events.

The Licence Commission will examine the files submitted by teams applying for UCI ProTour licences during the month of November. An announcement of the provisional list of teams to be awarded licences will be made on 20 November 2010. The definitive list will be published on 10 December.

The UCI has also received 28 applications for registration as UCI Professional Continental Teams for 2011.

1 If the name of the team is known, as well as in the case of new teams, only the name is given. When the name is provisional but relates to a team that was active in 2010, the name of the applicant is given.
* Provisional name