Tyler Farrar win Giro stage2, Evans takes Pink jersey

Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Transitions) came back from a crash of his own to win the crash-filled finale of the Giro d’Italia’s second stage into Utrecht on Sunday. The American finished ahead of HTC-Columbia’s Matthew Goss and Liquigas’ Fabio Sabatini in a sprint from a small, but fast lead group.


* 1. Tyler Farrar (USA), Garmin-Transitions
* 2. Matthew Goss (Aus), HTC-Columbia
* 3. Fabio Sabatini (I), Liquigas-Doimo
* 4. Andre Greipel (G), HTC-Columbia
* 5. Alessandro Petacchi (I) Lampre, all same time


* 1. Cadel Evans (AUS) BMC Racing Team in 5:07:09
* 2. Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin-Transitions at 0:01
* 3. Alexandre Vinokourov (KAZ) Astana at 0:03
* 4. Richie Porte (AUS) Team Saxo Bank at 0:03
* 5. David Millar (GBR) Garmin-Transitions at 0:04