Tour de France Stage 6 highlights and Stage 7 preview

EDVALD Boasson Hagen, the Norwegian sprinter on Team Sky, denied Launceston’s Matt Goss his first win and back-to-back victories for HTC-Highroad at the Tour de France, in a frantic bunch finish this morning.

After the longest stage of the race, held in rainy conditions, Boasson Hagen proved the strongest from a bunch sprint that saw Australian Matt Goss of HTC-Highroad finish second.

“I’m really happy after I was given the perfect launch by Geraint Thomas,” an elated Hagen said.

“It’s really great to stand up on top of the podium and look at all the people. With Thor having the yellow jersey, it’s a great day for Norway.”

All the favourites made it to the line in the same time as the day’s winner except American Levi Leipheimer, who crashed with five kilometres to go as he slipped on a white line on the road side, losing over a minute.

Post race interview with Edvald Boasson:

Stage 7 preview and who to watch:

Stage 7’s profile is the flattest of this year’s race and that will probably result in a victory for one of the contenders for the green jersey. Covering 218km’s, look out for these riders for the win: Mark Cavendish, Tyler Farrar, Alessandro Petacchi and Thor Hushovd.

Video of Stage 7 route:

Overall standings after Stage 6:

1. Thor Hushovd (NOR/GRM) 22hr 50min 34sec

2. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC) at 0:01sec

3. Frank Schleck (LUX/LEO) 0:04

4. David Millar (GBR/GRM) 0:08

5. Andreas Kloden (GER/RSH) 0:10

6. Bradley Wiggins (GBR/SKY) 0:10

7. Geraint Thomas (GBR/SKY) 0:12

8. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/SKY) 0:12

9. Jakob Diemer Fuglsang (DEN/LEO) 0:12

10. Andy Schleck (LUX/LEO) 0:12

11. Tony Martin (GER/HTC) 0:13

12. Peter Velits (SVK/HTC) 0:13

13. Chris Horner (USA/RSH) 0:18

14. Robert Gesink (NED/RAB) 0:20

15. Alexander Vinokourov (KAZ/AST) 0:32

16. Philippe Gilbert (BEL/OLO) 0:33

17. Jurgen Van den Broeck (BEL/OLO) 0:39

18. Carlos Barredo (ESP/RAB) 0:40

19. Cyril Gautier (FRA/EUC) 0:58

20. Ivan Basso (ITA/LIQ) 1:03

21. Kevin De Weert (BEL/QST) 1:04

22. Linus Gerdemann (GER/LEO) 1:06

23. Nicolas Roche (EIR/ALM) 1:12

24. Damiano Cunego (ITA/LAM) 1:12

25. Egor Silin (RUS/KAT) 1:12