Tour de France Stage 3 highlights and Stage 4 preview

Team Garmin-Cervélo are on a role. A day after winning the team time trial and capturing the maillot jaune, Garmin-Cervélo made it two in a row, with a breakthrough sprint victory with Tyler Farrar in Monday’s 198km third stage.

This stage win also marks the first time that an American has won on the 4th of July.

“It’s a dream to win today. I was close the past few Tours, second, third, second, so to win a stage is incredible,” Farrar said.

“To have the world champion and yellow jersey leading you out is amazing. Our team was perfect today, with Millar and Dean and Hushovd. The first objectives were to win the team time trial and to win a stage. Now we’ll what the rest of the Tour brings.”

Post race video with Tyler Farrar below:

Stage 4 preview and who to watch:

The first week of the tour generally favours the sprinters. The undulating stage 4 will be different. I reckon the yellow jersey contenders might make a statement because of the toughness of the stage. Purists rate the final 2km ascent into Mur-de-Bretagne as the Alpe d’Huez of Brittany. Watch out for Cadel Evans, David Millar, Phillipe Gilbert and Tony Martin.

Video of Stage 4 route:

Overall standings after Stage 3:

1. Thor Hushovd (NOR/GRM) 9hr 46min 46sec
2. David Millar (GBR/GRM) at 0:00sec
3. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC) 0:01
4. Geraint Thomas (GBR/SKY) 0:04
5. Linus Gerdemann (GER/LEO) 0:04
6. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/SKY) 0:04
7. Frank Schleck (LUX/LEO) 0:04
8. Andy Schleck (LUX/LEO) 0:04
9. Jakob Diemer Fuglsang (DEN/LEO) 0:04
10. Bradley Wiggins (GBR/SKY) 0:04
11. Manuel Quinziato (ITA/BMC) 0:04
12. Fabian Cancellara (SWI/LEO) 0:04
13. George Hincapie (USA/BMC) 0:04
14. Tony Martin (GER/HTC) 0:05
15. Peter Velits (SVK/HTC) 0:05
16. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/HTC) 0:05
17. Mark Cavendish (IDM/HTC) 0:05
18. Matthew Goss (AUS/HTC) 0:05
19. Andreas Kloden (GER/RSH) 0:10
20. Chris Horner (USA/RSH) 0:10
21. Janez Brajkovic (SLO/RSH) 0:10
22. Levi Leipheimer (USA/RSH) 0:10
23. Ben Swift (ENG/SKY) 0:11
24. Robert Gesink (NED/RAB) 0:12
25. Yaroslav Popovych (UKR/RSH) 0:23