Tour de France stage 18 – Cavendish coasts to his 14th Tour victory

Mark Cavendish claimed his 14th career success on the Tour de France Friday after coasting to victory in a bunch finish to the 18th stage over 198km from Salies-de-Bearn to Bordeaux.

Spaniard Alberto Contador retained the yellow jersey with his eight-second lead on Andy Schleck still intact, a day ahead of the race’s final time trial over 52km.

Cavendish meanwhile gave a sprinting master class to his rivals on what was one of the last stages likely to finish in a bunch sprint. The HTC-Columbia rider, who has been missing lead-out man Mark Renshaw since the Australian’s exclulsion from the race last week, came over the line with room to spare after following Alessandro Petacchi’s wheel in the last 400 metres.

Lampre rider Petacchi finished third behind Kiwi Julian Dean, of Garmin-Transitions, but did enough to take back the green jersey for the sprinters’ points competition from Norwegian Thor Hushovd. The Cervelo sprinter was well placed in the final kilometre but lost ground when two-stage winner Petacchi veered to the left of the road, creating a new echelon which an alert Cavendish did well to follow.

Cavendish takes his 14 Tour stage victory, 4th this year - courtesy AFP

Cavendish then powered past Petacchi with relative ease, and had time to sit up and look back at his rivals before crossing the finish line in victory. Isle of Man rider Cavendish has now won four stages on the race, to go with the six he won in 2009 and four he won in 2008. He is also back in the running for the green jersey, an objective he began the race with but had to forget about after a disastrous first week of racing.

Alberto Contador and Tom Cruise - courtesy Sirotti

After the time trial on Saturday, the sprinters are likely to be back in action on Sunday when the race finishes on the Champs Elysees in Paris, where Cavendish won his sixth stage of last year’s edition.

© AFP 2010


1 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Team HTC – Columbia 4:37:09
2 Julian Dean (NZl) Garmin – Transitions
3 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini
4 Robbie McEwen (Aus) Team Katusha
5 Oscar Freire Gomez (Spa) Rabobank
6 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky Professional Cycling Team
7 Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto
8 Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Caisse d’Epargne
9 Grega Bole (Slo) Lampre-Farnese Vini
10 Ruben Perez Moreno (Spa) Euskaltel – Euskadi

GC after stage 18

1 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Astana 88:09:48
2 Andy Schleck (Lux) Team Saxo Bank 0:00:08
3 Samuel Sánchez Gonzalez (Spa) Euskaltel – Euskadi 0:03:32
4 Denis Menchov (Rus) Rabobank 0:03:53
5 Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto 0:05:27
6 Robert Gesink (Ned) Rabobank 0:06:41
7 Joaquin Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha 0:07:03
8 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Garmin – Transitions 0:09:18
9 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Liquigas-Doimo 0:10:12
10 Christopher Horner (USA) Team Radioshack 0:10:37