Team Radioshack obtain ProTour License

Team RadioShack, spearheaded by Lance Armstrong has been granted a ProTour License which guarentees the American outfit entry into all the leading cycle races including the Tour de France.

Next year, Armstrong will rely on help by fellow American Levi Leipheimer (35) and German Andreas Kloden (34), both from Astana. Besides these two senior members, the team will be relying on a number of promising young riders, most noticibly South African Daryl Impey (24). The other riders include Sam Bewley (age 22) and Bjorn Selander (21), both making the jump from the Trek-Livestrong U23 team, Ivan Rovny (22) and Ben Hermans (23).

The team is set to be managed Belgian Johan Bruyneel, the man behind Armstrong’s seven Tour titles.

ProTour teams currently each pay £120,000 a season towards operating costs of the UCI’s biological passport project, a blood profiling system used in the fight against doping.



Will Contador be in yellow and smiling next year?