Second consecutive Downhill Championship title for Odendaal

The 2013 Cycling SA-MTB National Championships, powered by Frontier Events culminated in the downhill event near Port Elizabeth on Sunday, 21 July.

Defending Champion Tiaan Odendaal won his second consecutive title when he posted the quickest time on the 1.7km Hayterdale Trails course in 03:15.83.

Odendaal, who raced in the junior category at last year’s National Champs and beat the Elite field, seems to have experienced a simple transition into the Elite category. This year’s 4-second advantage placed his descent as the fastest on the day beating Capetonian Stefan Garlicki into second place, in 03:19.82 and Adi van der Merwe third in 03:21.64.

The Junior Men’s race saw Andrew Martin take the top step of the podium in 03:24.61, followed by Tian Strooh (03:25.11) and Theo Erlangsen (03:31.94).

Coenie Slabbert comfortably won the Youth Men category in 03:51.18, with Sebastian Petersen and Jacques Prins finishing second and third respectively in 03:53.11 and 03:55.08.

There were no women participants in the Elite, Junior and Youth categories.

The DHI Course was extended by 500m, which increased the overall distance to 1.77km, with a vertical drop of 240m. The course featured a few tweaks and new additions from last year’s National Cup Series event.

Well done to the Mountain Events team on putting together a superb championship weekend of cross-country and downhill racing, and to the owners of Hayterdale Trails for your preparation in creating sublime tracks.


2013 SA National MTB DHI Champs – Hayterdale Trails, Addo – 21 July

Elite Men
1 Tiaan Odendaal 03:15.83
2 Stefan Garlicki 03:19.82
3 Adi Van Der Merwe 03:21.64

Junior Men
1 Andrew Martin 03:24.61
2 Tian Strooh 03:25.11
3 Theo Erlangsen 03:31.94

Youth Men
1 Coenie Slabbert 03:51.18
2 Sebastian Petersen 03:53.11
3 Jacques Prins 03:55.08