SA riders flying the flag high at Vuelta a Murcia

South Africans Robbie Hunter and Daryl Impey are doing us proud at the Vuelta a Murcia. The race is held over five stages around Murcia, Spain and is part of the UCI Europe Tour.

Daryl Impey placed 5th for Team RadioShack as Robbie Hunter won the first stage of Tour of Murcia. Lance Armstrong and the rest of the Radioshack team came in same time safely in the bunch.

After the stage Lance Armstrong tweeted, “St. 1 done here in Murcia. Sunny, warm and WINDY. Small peloton tho so much more relaxed. Crongrats to @robbiehunter on the win.”

Viatcheslav Ekimov also put his two cents in on his twitter by saying, “The Shack’s took apart all bunch in last 15k…”

1 Robert Hunter (RSA) Garmin-Transitions 4:15:40
2 Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank
3 Vicente Reynes (Spa) Team HTC Columbia
4 Roger Kluge (Ger) Team Milram
5 Daryl Impey (RSA) Team RadioShack
6 Kristof Jezowski (Pol) CCC Polsat
7 Michael Golas (Pol) Vacansoleil
8 Russell Downing (GBr) Team Sky
9 Daniel Schorn (Aut) Team NetApp
10 Ian Wilkinson (GBr) Endura Racing

Lance Armstrong leads Daryl Impey

Stage 2

Once again Robbie Hunter came away victorious at the Vuelta a Murcia 2010 while Team RadioShack rider Daryl Impey came in 10th.

This is after his 5th place finish on the previous day’s stage (1). It was not a quiet day for Team RadioShack as Lance Armstrong was at the front of all climbs with the main peloton while Jason McCartney and Gregory Rast were on the attack in the day’s break.

Here is an overview of the first ten over the line on stage 2

1 Robert Hunter (RSA) Garmin-Transitions  4:20:12
2 Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank
3 Vicente Reynes (Spa) Team HTC-Columbia
4 Alexander Blain (GBr) Endura Racing
5 Daniel Schorn (Ger) Team NetApp
6 Frantisek Rabon (Cze) Team HTC-Columbia
7 Michel Kreder (Ned) Garmin-Transitions
8 Ian Wilkinson (GBr) Endura Racing
9 Josep Jufré (Spa) Astana
10 Daryl Impey (RSA) Team RadioShack