Impey wraps up SA Champs with double titles, Oberholzer clinches women’s crown



Daryl Impey (33) and Carla Oberholzer (31) were crowned SA National Road Champions on the penultimate day of the six-day 2018 SA National Road and Para-cycling Championships, which took place in the streets of Oudtshoorn from 6-11 February. The all-star affair saw some of South Africa’s best, representing age categories from under-11 through to over 80 years of age, race along the same route in a race against the clock, and each other, for the coveted titles in their respective categories.


For Daryl Impey, the road title has always been elusive, and the Mitchelton-Scott rider had felt that the odds were stacked against him as he competes in the annual Championships without teammates, therefore outnumbered in the attacks. The Time Trial however is a different story, and Impey secured his seventh Time Trial title this year – six of them consecutive.

The in-form sprinter, fresh from his Tour Down Under overall victory, delivered the goods in an action-packed finale along the 153-kilometre course. A crash early in the race, which involved five of Team Dimension Data for Qhubeka’s riders, resulted in their continental team rider Kent Main being taken to hospital. Impey, who also came down in the crash, chased and immediately bridged the gap to the break which included Jacques Janse van Rensburg (Team Dimension Data for Qhubeka) and Jason Oosthuizen (Barzani Pro Cycling). Impey used his experience at 25km to go and broke away with Jv Rensburg and Oosthuizen in pursuit, and when it came down to the sprint, Impey had no trouble in sealing the victory.

“It feels so good to win, I have lost a few championships after some bad luck, so it was about time luck was in my favour. It is a nice relief to finally get the jersey, you always have these races that you want to win and finally I can tick off this one. I pride myself in wearing the jersey abroad and representing South Africa,” said Impey.

Janse van Rensburg crossed the line in second place. While Jason Oosthuizen was third overall, he was the first under-23 rider to cross the line, winning the U23 title for the first time. The silver and bronze positions were strongly contested in a tight sprint for the finish line, with Ryan Harris Office Guru) edging ahead to grab silver while Gustav Basson (ProTouch) settled for bronze.

Team Demacon’s Carla Oberholzer finished her 121km race in strong form as she soloed the final kilometres to the finish line in a time of three hours 42 minutes 23 seconds. In working with her teammate and defending champion Heidi Dalton, Oberholzer was able to break away from the main bunch, which resulted in about a dozen riders leading the race. In a repetitive move on one of the major climbs, they repeated the attack and dropped more of the women from the bunch. Oberholzer then launched a big attack in the tailwind, which was countered by Yzette Oelofse (Team Bestmed) and Elmari de Wet. On one of the final climbs of the race, Oberholzer attacked again and broke free to solo to the finish line in the final 20 kilometres.

Maroesjka Matthee and Lynette Burger (Demacon) finished in second and third places respectively.

Catherine Colyn (Maaslandster International Women’s Cycling Team) put in a commanding performance to win the U23 women’s race by a country mile. Her winning time of 03:46:01 was over nine minutes ahead of second placed rider Courteney Webb (UCT Cycling Team), with Danielle Strydom (Team Bestmed) rounding out the podium. “I’m over the moon with winning the U23 title. Thank you for everyone’s support,” tweeted Colyn.


Ricardo Broxham (ProTouch) won a hard-fought race against teammate Tiano da Silva and Cian Leveridge (Absolute Motion), coming out as the victor in a winning time of 03:17:01. Da Silva and Leveridge rounded out the podium in second and third places, finishing 17 seconds and 23 seconds behind the winning time respectively. The Junior women’s race saw Tiffany Keep (Team Silverback Volvo) make it a double as she added the road race title to her Time Trial win from a few days earlier. Keep’s race was down to the wire against all-time competitor Kelsey van Schoor (Team African Pride), winning by a whisker. Carla Steyn (Absolute Motion) finished third. “Ecstatic about achieving the double victory in the Road Race and Time Trial – it was a hard-fought battle out in the breakaway against the wind and chasing group. Super happy I could finish it off with a win,” tweeted Keep.

Summary of Results – 2018 SA National Road & Para-cycling Championships (Oudtshoorn)


Elite Men
1.Daryl Impey 3:42:25
2.Jacques Janse van Rensburg 3:42:26
3.Nolan Hoffman 3:46:39

U23 Men
1.Jason Oosthuizen 3:42:38
2.Ryan Harris 3:49:56
3.Gustav Basson 3:49:56

Junior Men
1.Ricardo Broxham 3:17:01
2.Tiano da Silva 3:17:18
3.Cian Leveridge 3:17:24

Elite Women
1.Carla Oberholzer 3:42:23
2.Maroesjka Matthee 3:45:56
3.Lynette Burger 3:45:56

U23 Women
1.Catherine Colyn 3:46:01
2.Courteney Webb 3:55:46
3.Danielle Strydom 4:01:04

Junior Women
1.Tiffany Keep 2:48:45
2.Kelsey van Schoor 2:48:47
3.Carla Steyn 2:50:58


Elite Men (3 laps)
1.Daryl Impey 52:37,9
2.Ryan Gibbons 54:54,1
3.Rohan du Plooy 59:26,5

U23 Men (3 laps)
1.Stefan de Bod 53:38,4
2.Kent Main 55:18,6
3.Gregory de Vink 57:41,3

Junior Men (2 laps)
1.Jean-Pierre Lloyd 40:17,1
2.Ricardo Broxham 40:17,6
3.Ryan Terry 40:30,2

Elite Women (2 laps)
1.Liezel Jordaan 45:12,3
2.Yzette Ann Oelofse 45:15,5
3.S’annara Grove 47:03,2

U23 Women (2 laps)
1.Michelle Benson 45:14,0
2.Elne Owen 49:35,7
3.Jean-Marie Roelofse 53:25,3

Junior Women (1 lap)
1.Tiffany Keep 21:43,6
2.Kelsey van Schoor 22:50,3
3.Azulde Britz 23:23,0