Greg Minnaar wins DH World Cup #3 in Leogang, Austria

South African Greg Minnaar (Santa Cruz Syndicate) extended his lead in the series after taking his second win of the season to mark the end of theĀ  first half of the 2010 season for the Mountain Bike World Cup season.

Greg setting the pace

The men’s race saw Minnaar qualify second fastest, two-tenths of a second behind Sam Blenkinsop (Pierre International), with Aaron Gwin (Yeti Fox Shox) third and round two winner Gee Atherton (Commencal) fifth. In the final, no one could come close to the top qualifying time, showing how much the track had deteriorated overnight. World champion Steve Peat (Santa Cruz Syndicate) set the first time under 4:12, but was bumped from the hot seat by Cameron Cole (Maxxis-Rocky Mountain), the young New Zealand rider who has become a consistent top-ten finisher.

Greg claiming the victory

“It was crazy out there,” said Minnaar. “I was just all over the place, dabbing and trying to stay on the bike. It really was tough.”


1 Greg Minnaar (RSA) Santa Cruz Syndicate 0:04:05.65

2 Gee Atherton (GBr) Commencal 0:00:00.74
3 Aaron Gwin (USA) Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team 0:00:04.44
4 Samuel Blenkinsop (NZl) Lapierre International 0:00:05.52
5 Cameron Cole (NZl) Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain 0:00:06.12
6 Steve Peat (GBr) Santa Cruz Syndicate 0:00:06.17
7 Brendan Fairclough (GBr) Monster Energy / Specialized / Mad Catz 0:00:06.96
8 Justin Leov (NZl) Trek World Racing 0:00:07.28
9 Matti Lehikoinen (Fin) Chain Reaction Cycles/Intense 0:00:07.60
10 Matthew Simmonds (GBr) Chain Reaction Cycles/Intense 0:00:08.17
11 Steve Smith (Can) MS Evil Racing 0:00:08.44
12 Luke Strobel (USA) MS Evil Racing 0:00:08.99
13 Danny Hart (GBr) Giant Factory Team 0:00:09.98
14 Matthew Scoles (NZl) Team Cingolani – Protone 0:00:10.38
15 Marc Beaumont (GBr) GT Bicycles 0:00:11.40
16 Dan Atherton (GBr) Commencal 0:00:12.27
17 Sam Dale (GBr) Monster Energy / Specialized / Mad Catz 0:00:12.60
18 Chris Kovarik (Aus) Chain Reaction Cycles/Intense 0:00:12.71
19 Mickael Pascal (Fra) 0:00:12.80
20 Markus Pekoll (Aut) Solid Aclass Factory Team 0:00:13.05
21 Ben Reid (Irl) Dirt Norco Race Team 0:00:13.29
22 Filip Polc (Svk) MS Evil Racing 0:00:13.34
23 Fabien Pedemanaud (Fra) Scott 11 0:00:13.42
24 Andrew Neethling (RSA) Trek World Racing 0:00:13.76
25 George Brannigan (NZl) Ancillotti Doganaccia Racing Team 0:00:14.35