Evans wins Ninetyniner

With the South African Road and Time Trial Championships happening in Klerksdorp this coming weekend, Kevin Evans has hit perfect form after winning this weekends Ninetyniner race in Durbanville.

The Ninetyniner has always been a national seeding event and a very popular race for most cyclists to boost their Argus seeding. Team MTN/Energade won the event last year with Juan Van Heerden and this year were back with Juan and Kevin Evans. This year the organizers decided a route change was in order. The race would now finish with the final 7km consisting of Vissershok climb, descending the other side and then the final 1.2km straight up Odendaal street, a near vertical final kilometer ascent to the line.

Conditions were perfect on the day. The big move of the day came when Dave Garret (Daikin Gu) slipped away with another rider from a big team, and very quickly creating a gap of  two and a half minutes. With the two teams with the most riders each having a man up the road, no one was keen to hit the front of the race so it was left up the two Team MTN/Energade riders to set a hard tempo on the front. Erik Kleinhans (GT/Maties) also came to the front and with one or two of his team mates to help with the pace making and together with Team MTN/Energade they managed to reel in the 2 breakaway riders with about 10km remaining before the “Vissershok” climb.

Once the riders hit the climb it was David George who put in his attack and it was only Kevin Evans who could follow the hard tempo. Kevin managed to go around David halfway up the climb to win the King of the mountains. With only 15seconds lead over chase group the two leaders started the final 1 km climb and it was Kevin Evans who managed to muscle David George off his wheel to win his second Ninetyniner. At the end of the race, Kevin was full of praise for his team mater Juan Van Heerden and Maties rider Erik Kleinhans

Kevin crossing the line

Provisional results:
1st Kevin Evans (MTN/Energade) 2hrs46
2nd David George (Fullimput)
3rd Stefan Ilenfeldt
4th Moolman Welgemoed (Daikin Gu)
5th Charles Keey (Blend)