Dodd crowned African Continental BMX Champion (ZIM)

Zimbabwe were the proud hosts of the second African Continental BMX Championships in Harare on Saturday 14 November. The renowned Old Georgians Sports Club saw BMX riders from the continent competing in not only one, but two events over the weekend, also hosting the Africa BMX Challenge on Sunday 15 November. South African BMX Champion, Kyle Dodd (Jeep Team), added to his winning streak by taking the 2015 African Continental BMX Championship as well as Africa Challenge title.

“The event was awesome, it couldn’t have gone any better for me,” said Dodd. He mentioned that preparation for the race had gone well, training was solid and that he was feeling good, despite an injury earlier this year. “I had no issues with my wrist – it felt really strong and the injury had no effect on my training or performance,” he added.

“Day one of practice in Zimbabwe didn’t go as planned due to the gate being a lot slower than I’m use to, so I battled a bit to get out of it,” he said. “Then Friday came around and luckily I was able to sort my starts out and we all had to do a time trail. I won both time trials, setting the quickest times out of everyone.”

Dodd said that for him, Saturday was the most important day: “In the final there were some vital UCI points up for grabs, which would help our country for the Olympic qualifications next year, so Saturday I was happy to win four out of four races.”

The Africa Challenge on Sunday was a completely separate event, but Dodd set his sights on winning every lap and taking every single title there was. “I succeeded in doing that and walked away with some good prize money and nice trophies,” he said.

Dodd said that all in all, his training had paid off; the track was great, and that the people of Zimbabwe were ever welcoming, making everybody feel at home.

“Lastly I just want to thank Cycling SA for supporting us for the event as well as the season,” he concluded.

Summary of Results – 2015 BMX African Continental Championships (ZIM)


  1. Kyle Dodd
  2. Alex Limberg
  3. Penias Tenthani
  4. Simon Martin
  5. Tawanda Marova