Daryl Impey 6th in Tour of Luxembourg prologue

Jimmy Engoulvent (Saur-Sojasun), won Wednesday’s Tour of Luxembourg prologue, repeating his win in the same even in 2007.

Engoulvent, 30, came in nine seconds ahead of teammate and compatriot Cyril Lemoine, while RadioShack’s Gregory Rast was third, also nine seconds off the pace.

“Of course it’s very satisfying,” said Engoulvent of his day’s work over the 2.6 kilometer course. “Three years ago I lost the leader’s jersey from the first stage so this time I hope I don’t fall into that trap.”

Thursday’s stage is a 179.7km ride from Luxembourg to Hesperange.

  • 1. Jimmy Engoulvent (FRA) Saur-Sojasun in 3:41
  • 2. Cyril Lemoine (FRA) Saur-Sojasun at 9s
  • 3. Grégory Rast (SUI) Team Radioshack at 9
  • 4. Jimmy Casper (FRA) Saur-Sojasun at 10
  • 5. Lance Armstrong (USA) Team Radioshack at 10
  • 6. Daryl Impey (RSA) Team Radioshack at 11
  • 7. Borut Bozic (SLO) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team at 11
  • 8. Aitor Galdos (ESP) Euskatel-Euskadi at 11
  • 9. Jempy Drucker (LUX) Ct Differdange at 13
  • 10. Andreas Kloden (GER) Team Radioshack at 13

Courtesy Agence France Presse