Countdown to 2010 Santos Tour Down Under

The strongest ever field of cyclists, a brilliant calendar of parties and a massive public bike ride will make this year’s Santos Tour Down Under the best ever. That’s the view of  Tourism Minister Jane Lomax-Smith who today joined with Tour Director Mike Turtur and South Australian competitor Jack Bobridge at the Adelaide City Council Tour Village in Victoria Square to preview the 2010 event.

Highlights of the 2010 Santos Tour Down Under include:

o 133 cyclists competing in races over seven days along city and country roads through some of the State’s most beautiful locations

o 7129 registrations for the Mutual Community Challenge Tour – a new record

o1590 tickets sales for the Legends’ Night Dinner with Lance Armstrong and Allan Davis

o A huge calendar of parties, festivals and events as part of the Santos Festival of Cycling

o Wider coverage on SBS television and ABC radio than ever before, including live broadcast of stages

“This year’s Tour kicks off with the Cancer Council Helpline Classic in the city’s east end on Sunday 17 January,” Dr Lomax-Smith says.

“South Australia is already buzzing as the city, suburbs and regional towns gear up to host spectators, riders and crew members for seven days of elite cycling action.”

“This year’s race will boast the best ever line up of riders in the Tour’s history, including Lance Armstrong, Cadel Evans, Stuart O’Grady, Oscar Pereiro, Allan Davis and Alejandro Valverde.”

“These men are superstars of their sport and have all won some of the biggest cycling races in the world. Their involvement will provide a huge spectacle for cycling fans.”

Dr Lomax-Smith concludes: “I’m also delighted that we have five hometown heroes competing – Jack Bobridge, Luke Roberts, Tim Roe, Rohan Dennis and, of course, Stuart O’Grady.”

2010 Tour Down Under stages:

Cancer Council Helpline Classic

Sunday, January 17 – Rymill Park, Adelaide, 51km

Santos Tour Down Under

Tuesday, January 19 – Stage 1: Clare – Tanunda, 141km

Wednesday, January 20 – Stage 2: Gawler – Hahndorf, 133.5km

Thursday, January 21 – Stage 3: Unley – Stirling, 132.5km

Friday, January 22 – Stage 4: Norwood – Goolwa, 149.5km

Saturday, January 23 – Stage 5: Snapper Point – Willunga, 148km

Sunday, January 24 – Stage 6: Adelaide City Council Street Circuit, 90km