2010 Giro d’Italia route

The 2010 Giro d’Italia which marks the 93rd edition of this race will start on 8 May and end 3416,5km later in Verona on 30 May.

The course, which includes 21 stages and loads of climbing was unveiled on Saturday in Milan. The highest altitude that the riders will reach is 2618m above sea level on stage 20 where they will have negotiate the Passo Gavia with some parts reaching a testing 15 percent gradient.

Every year one climb in the Giro is dedicated to the late Marco Pantani. The climb is affectionately known as the ‘Pantani Mountain’ and this year The Mortirolo pass makes its return as that climb. Marco ‘The Pirate’ Pantani won the Giro in 1998.

Below is a breakdown of the 2010 Giro stage by stage.

Stage 1     Saturday May 8     Amsterdam (TT)     8.4km
Stage 2     Sunday May 9     Amsterdam to Utrecht     209km
Stage 3     Monday May 10     Amsterdam to Middelberg     209km
Rest day     Tuesday May 11     Travel to Italy
Stage 4     Wednesday May 12 Savigliano to Cuneo (TTT)     32.5km
Stage 5     Thursday May 13     Novara to Novi Ligure     168km
Stage 6     Friday May 14     Fidenza to Carrara     166km
Stage 7     Saturday May 15     Carrara to Montalcino     215km
Stage 8     Sunday May 16     Chianciano Terme to Terminillo     189km
Stage 9     Monday May 17     Frosinone to Cava De Tirreni     188km
Stage 10     Tuesday May 18     Avellino to Bitonto     220km
Stage 11     Wednsday May 19     Lucera to L’Aquila     256km
Stage 12     Thursday May 20     Citta Sant’Angelo toPorto Recanati     191km
Stage 13     Friday May 21     Potro Recanati to Cesenatico     222km
Stage 14     Saturday May 22     Ferrara to Asolo     201km
Stage 15     Sunday May 23     Mestre to Monte Zoncolan     218km
Rest day     Monday May 24
Stage 16     Tuesday May 25     St. Vigil to Plan de Corones (TT)     12.9km
Stage 17     Wednesday May 26     Brunico/Bruneck to PeioTerme     173km
Stage 18     Thursday May 27     Levico Terme to Brescia     151km
Stage 19     Friday May 28     Brescia to Aprica     195km
Stage 20     Saturday May 29     Bormio to Tonale     178km
Stage 21     Sunday May 30     Verona (TT)     15.3km


2009 Giro Podium –  2nd Danilo Di Luca (Ita), 1st  Denis Menchov (Rus), 3rd  Franco Pellizotti (Ita)

Danilo Di Luca’s 2nd position was subsequently taken away after failing two dope tests.